Page 2 of 2

Re: Status as of Sunday, April 26

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:36 pm
by rootdude
kires wrote:The short version is 'thanks; it worked perfectly'. Restarting the miners to enable that option isn't even discernable in the hashrate chart, and they're running like they mean it. Thanks for pointing that out to me. I'd seen it before, but had (foolishly) assumed that it was the same as setting them to failover as opposed to load balance via the web interface. Live and learn. Speaking of which, while mucking about in it's config files, I found an option to use cgminer instead of BFGMiner. I'll probably give that a shot tonight, but for now I'm just going to be glad that they're running as well as they are.
Kires - what type of rigs are you running?

I don't seem to have the cgminer option with my Titans... though I am trying out the "failover-only" : true, option to see if it helps my registered hashrate at all (which is always suffering because of work restarts)...

Re: Status as of Sunday, April 26

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 5:39 pm
by rootdude
Steve Sokolowski wrote: It doesn't follow the stratum specification and there are many patches that need to be made to deal solely with its bugs.
Steve - do you know how to update the Titan firmware images with the newest releases of BFGMiner? Other than waiting for KnC to put out a new image (which may never come at this point) I know BFG has moved beyond 5.1 which is the latest available on a pre-built image from KnC. It'd be good to know how to update the binary without having to wait for KnC to do the work.

TIA,
rootdude

Re: Status as of Sunday, April 26

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:38 pm
by Steve Sokolowski
Unfortunately, I don't know much about Titans, so I can't help with that. Updating firmware is risky. If you fail, then the entire miner will be bricked.

Is there some reason you can't do what kires did and change that one option?

Re: Status as of Sunday, April 26

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:54 am
by kires
rootdude wrote:
Kires - what type of rigs are you running?

I don't seem to have the cgminer option with my Titans... though I am trying out the "failover-only" : true, option to see if it helps my registered hashrate at all (which is always suffering because of work restarts)...

I've got a pair of KNC Titans. I was one of the relatively lucky ones who at least got solid hardware out of the deal. The configuration I'm using for them is only possible to do via SSH access to the controller. You need to add the failover only string to the script that calls the miner, named bfgminer.sh. Once you ssh into it you'll need to:

Code: Select all

vi knc-asic/RPi_system/bfgminer.sh
If you don't know how to use vi, then use nano instead. Anyway, once you get the script open, it will look something like this:

Code: Select all

if [ -f /config/miner.conf ]; then
        . /config/miner.conf
fi
if [ "$use_bfgminer" = true ] ; then
        DAEMON=/home/pi/bfgminer/bfgminer
        NAME=bfgminer
        DESC="BFGMiner daemon"
        EXTRA_OPT="-Q 10"
else
        DAEMON=/usr/bin/cgminer
        NAME=cgminer
        DESC="Cgminer daemon"
        EXTRA_OPT=
fi

set -e

test -x "$DAEMON" || exit 0

do_start() {
        start-stop-daemon -b -S -c pi -d $(dirname "$DAEMON") -x /usr/bin/screen -- -S cgminer -t cgminer -m -d sh -c "while true; do waas >/dev/null 2>/dev/null ; $DAEMON --api-listen --api-allow="W:127.0.0.1/24,W:192.168.1.13" -c /config/cgminer.conf $EXTRA_OPT --failover-only --scrypt -S titan:auto; done"
}

...

It will allegedly use CGMiner if the use_bfgminer variable is set to false in that first if statement. I'm not sure where that variable lives, though, so that'll take some digging. As for whether to use Cgminer or maybe even try for SGMiner, I'm reluctant more like knock kneed little girl scared to experiment. I've got them running like a striped-assed ape and I'm afraid to mess with 'em after all the fun and games it's taken to get it working this well.

Anyway, setting the failover only flag is just a matter of adding it right after the $EXTRA_OPT in the line that begins with 'do_start'. I'm using this file, no password arguments (Prohashing sets my miners difficulty at 16384 which seems about right), and the url of

Code: Select all

stratum+tcp://prohashing.com:3333/#skipcbcheck
and my 2 Titans are actually averaging about 650 Mashies here, which is about what they got mining straight LTC. I don't know if adding the failover only flag to the Manual Configuration File Editor in the web interface will work or not. But if ssh isn't your thing then give it a shot and let me know if it works.

Also, when I've broken my controller with a bad update, I was able to restore it by flashing it back to version 1.2 of the firmware, then upgrading it to each successive version through the interface. I was never able to get a fresh img of 2.0 to boot. YMMV.

When you have SSH'd into it, you may be tempted to upgrade the pi's software. DO NOT DO THIS I tried to do it, and ended up bricking one of my miners. Apparently KNC's code only likes the specific version of some of the software because apt upgrade all blew it higher than up, and it took me a few hours to get it back up to speed.